Election Results - General Elections

The current UK Parliament constituencies were set in 2005. The majority of the Aberdeen City area falls within 2 constituencies:

  • Aberdeen North
  • Aberdeen South

Aberdeen City Council is responsible for organising general election ballots within these constituencies and is therefore able to share the election results (including votes cast per candidate and rejected ballots) as open data. More information about elections and voting within Aberdeen is available on the Council and Democracy section of the Aberdeen City Council website.

A large part of the north of Aberdeen City, including Dyce and some parts of Bucksburn, falls within the Gordon constituency where general election ballots are administrated by Aberdeenshire Council. Detailed results for Gordon, and the other constituencies administrated by Aberdeenshire Council can be found on the elections section of the Aberdeenshire Council website.

For more information on UK Parliamentary Constituencies see the Boundary Commission for Scotland website.

The Election Results - General Elections dataset contains 3 text files for each of the Aberdeen constituencies administrated by Aberdeen City Council, in each General Election. These files contain:

  • Poll summary (Total electorate for the constituency, Number of ballot papers verified, Percentage poll)
  • Votes Cast (the Number of votes recorded for each candidate with Name of Candidate, Political Party, Total Votes received)
  • Rejected Ballots (the Numbers of ballot papers rejected for each Rejection Reason)

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Author Open Data Aberdeen
Maintainer Open Data Aberdeen
Last Updated August 4, 2020, 06:09 (UTC)
Created February 27, 2020, 10:58 (UTC)
comments powered by Disqus